Half Price Dvds » Half Price Thursday

Thursday Rock

Thursday, a post-hardcore band, is from New Brunswick, New Jersey. The band formed in 1997. Their first full-length album was released in 1999 with a New Jersey based company called indie Eyeball Records. Thursday is known for their notable advancements of artistic nature; many of the bands songs are as a result of books, real world events, and art of various forms. Successfully emerging from the underground indie scene, Thursday at the turn of the century attracted Victory Records attentios.

The band gained significant commercial radio airtime when they released their second album which became a breakthrough. Their hit single "Understanding In A Car Crash", landed the band a major label record deal with Island. Their hopes were in continuing to create music and an image that truely represented themselves. This hope resulted in a magnificent artistic piece in which the band perfected their sound. The entire collection of Thursday albums were produced by Sal Villanueva and mixed by Rumble Fish.

Thursday Band members are: Geoff Rickley (vocals), Tom Keeley (guitar), Steve Pedulla (guitar), Tim Payne (bass), Tucker Rule (drums) and last but not least Andrew Everding (keyboard).

The sound of Thursday is built upon both post-punk atmospherics and hardcore's visceral instrumentation. Repeated high-pitch guitar riffs stacked on top of heavy bass lines echo Thursday's British influences such as The Cure, The Smiths, and Joy Division as well as New York City's Sonic Youth. There is the odd time signatures, tempo and key changes, and multi-sectional song structures also play a prominent role, akin to progressive rock bands such as Yes and Rush. Lyrically, Thursday is a masterpiece with lead vocalist Geoff Rickly. Geoff concentrates on the struggles of growing up in the world today using violent imagery along side shimmering, and often beautiful phrases.

Thursday's Discography

* Waiting (December 6, 1999, Eyeball Records)

* Full Collapse (October 18, 2001, Victory Records)

* War All The Time (September 16, 2003, Island Records)

Thursday's Singles

* 2001 - "Understanding In A Car Crash"

* 2002 - "Cross Out The Eyes"

* 2003 - "Signals Over The Air"

* 2003 - "For The Workforce, Drowning"

* 2004 - "War All The Time"

Feel free to reprint this article as long as you keep the article, this caption and author biography in tact with all hyperlinks.

Ryan Fyfe is the owner and operator of Thursday Spot - http://www.thursdayspot.com, which is the best site on the internet for all thursday related information.

Source: www.ezinearticles.com